2011 Theatre Ontario Festival

May 18 - 22, 2011, ACT-CO, The Curtain Club, Richmond Hill
Adjudicator - Jane Carnwath

Whitby Courthouse Theatre
Suds by Steve Gundersen, Bryan Scott & Melinda Gilb
Presented by: ACT-CO
Wednesday, May 18, 2011
Espanola Little Theatre
Balconville by David Fennario
presented by: QUONTA
Thursday, May 19, 2011
Domino Theatre inc (Kingston)
Trying by Joanna McClelland Glass
presented by: EODL
Friday, May 20, 2011
Theatre Windsor
Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf? by Edward Albee
presented by: WODL
Saturday, May 21, 2011

Director, writer, adjudicator Jane Carnwath has worked and taught in all aspects of the theatre. An MFA in theatre from York University, she was Professor of Acting in the Music Theatre Program at Sheridan College for ten years. For several years, she was Program Director of the Alumnae Theatre in Toronto. Her most recent directing credits include After You by Dave Carley, Homeward Bound by Elliot Hayes, and Pride and Prejudice, all for the Alumnae Theatre.

She works with community theatre groups as production consultant and acting instructor. She taught a directing intensive
workshop at Theatre Ontario Summer Courses for a number of years. Jane has adjudicated for WODL, QUONTA and ACT-CO, as well as the Theatre Saskatchewan Festival. In 2005, she adjudicated the Theatre Ontario Festival in Belleville.


The Elsie - Outstanding Production

Domino Theatre - Trying
Outstanding Director
Whitby Courthouse Theatre - Suds
Mike Trites
also nominated: Penny Nash, Trying, Domino Theatre
Outstanding Performance by a Female
Domino Theatre - Trying
Naomi Ballance as Sarah Schorr
also nominated: Niki RIchardson as Martha, Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?, Theatre Windsor
Outstanding Performance by a Male
Domino Theatre - Trying
William Morrow as Judge Francis Biddle
also nominated: Chris Lanspeary as George, Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?, Theatre Windsor
Outstanding Performance by a Female in a Supporting Role
Theatre Windsor - Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Daniela Piccinin as Honey
also nominated: Helen Landry as Irene Regan, Balconville, Espanola Little Theatre
Outstanding Performance by a Male in a Supporting Role
Espanola Little Theatre - Balconville
Raymond Landry as Claude Paquette
also nominated: Jason Butler-Burns as Everyone Else, Suds, Whitby Courthouse Theatre
and Chirs Cayen as Tom Williams, Balconville, Espanola Little Theatre
Outstanding Visual Presentation
Espanola Little Theatre - Balconville
also nominated: Suds, Whitby Courthouse Theatre
Outstanding Technical Achievement
Whitby Courthouse Theatre - Suds
Outstanding Coordinated Production (chosen by the Festival Stage Manager)
Domino Theatre - Trying
The Perry Short Award (For Set Design)
Espanola Little Theatre - Balconvillee
RIchard Gamelin & Walter Maskel
also nominated: Ian Handscomb, Suds, Whitby Courthouse Theatre
Special Adjudicator Awards
Espanola Little Theatre - Balconville
The cast, for outstanding acting ensemble
Whitby Courthouse Theatre - Suds
Eric Brydges & Janice Brydges, Musical Directors, and the cast for musical excellence
Domino Theatre - Trying
Michael Gourgon for sound design
Theatre Windsor - Who's Afraid of Virginica Woolf?
The company for stage combat
Whitby Courthouse Theatre - Suds
For "a moment to remember" - The finale and curtain call

Updated: 27 March 2015