2010 One Act Play Festival, Ottawa Little Theatre, Ottawa
November 12-14, 2010
Adjudicator - Laurel Smith

Friday, November 12 Saturday, November 13 - Afternoon Saturday, November 13 - Evening
Ottawa Little Theatre
The Interview
by Ken Wilson
More Theatre, Manotick
The Way of All Fish
by Elaine May
Kemptville Players
Ciao, Baby
by Ken R. Brown
Tara Players
by Myles na Gopaleen
Valley Players of Almonte
by Ken Cameron
Studio Theatre Perth
The Last Act is a Solo
by Robert Anderson
Studio Theatre Perth
My Narrator
by Norm Foster
Peterborough Theatre Guild
This is a Play
by Daniel MacIvor
Bay of Quinte Community Players
The Visitor
by Carl Cashin

Laurel Smith is a producer, director, playwright, adjudicator, teacher and performer with a BA (Music), an MBA (Arts and Media Administration), an MA (Theatre) as well as theatre training at the Banff School of Fine Arts and the Drama Studio in London, England.

Since 1999, Laurel has run her own theatre company, Burning Passions Theatre in Toronto. Following a year as part of the acclaimed Shaw Festival’s Director’s Project, she moved to Perth to found the Classic Theatre Festival. Recent directing credits include sold-out productions of George Bernard Shaw’s Mrs. Warren’s Profession and Candida as part of “Shaw in the City” in Toronto, as well as the premiere of her own original work, the crush of beauty, at Summerworks in Toronto. For the premiere season of the Classic Theatre Festival in 2010, Laurel directed Blithe Spirit, and produced the second play, The Voice of the Turtle, both to audience and critical acclaim.

Next season she will be directing two more plays for the 2011 season of the Festival, which features classic hits from the Golden Age of Broadway and the London Stage. Laurel has adjudicated festivals across Ontario, including ACTCO, the London One-Act Play Festival and Quonta. She has also conducted workshops in acting, scene study and directing around the province, most recently for Gateway Theatre Guild in North Bay.

Peterborough Examiner Award for Best Visual Production
for Set Design
Ottawa Little Theatre - The Interview
Robin Riddihough
Helen R McGregor Adjudicator's Award
for Most Promising New Director
Tara Players - Thirst
Margaret Harvey-O'Kelly
Peterborough Theatre Guild Adjudicator's Award
for Outstanding Ensemble
Tara Players - Thirst
Kelly O'Kelly, Dale MacEachern, Roddy McFall, John Linehan and Kevin Reilly
Colin Mawson Award for Outstanding Contribution by a Student
for Lighting Assistant
Peterborough Theatre Guild - This is a Play
Avery Bowser
Nancy Chajkowski Memorial Award for Costume Design
Bay of Quinty Community Players - The Visitor
Carl C. Cashin and Bob Giasson
Belleville Theatre Guild Acting Award
for Best Male in a Leading Role
Ottawa Little Theatre - The Interview
Dan Baran as Mr. Anderson
Mae Carmichael Award for Acting
for Best Female in a Leading Role
Studio Theatre Productions - The Last Act is a Solo
Joanna McAuley as Laura Cunningham
Pauline Grant Award for Acting
for Best Female in a Supporting Role
Studio Theatre Productions, Perth - My Narrator
Barb Guthrie as Barb
Nepean Little Theatre Acting Award
for Best Male in a Supporting Role
Ottawa Little Theatre - The Interview
Kieran More and Michael Kennedy as Detectives Tony Smith and Dick Thorpe
Penny Arril Adjudicator's Award
for Outstanding Technical Aspect
Peterborough Theatre Guild - This is a Play
Rowan Lamoureux, Projection Technician and Master
Academy Theatre Foundation Award for Best Director
Ottawa Little Theatre - The Interview
Klaas van Weringh
Ottawa Little Theatre Award for Best Production
Ottawa Little Theatre - The Interview
Brighton Barn Theatre People's Choice Award
Studio Theatre Production, Perth - My Narrator
Pat Beharriel Scholarship Award
Ottawa Little Theatre
Stuart Alldritt
EODL Scholarship Award (formerly the Thérèse May Award)
Northumberland Players, Cobourg
Tory VanSickle

Updated: 27 March 2015