2006 One Act Festival, Vagabond Theatre, Cornwall
November 11 - 13, 2006
Adjudicator - Mimi Mekler

Friday, November 11 Saturday, November 12 - Afternoon Saturday, November 12 - Evening

Adjudicator Mimi Mackler's work as a director, actor, dramaturge, writer and adjudicator has taken her from California to Czechoslovakia and Italy to Istrael. She can be currently seen across Canada starring in the children's TV series Crazy Quilt. Other acting highlights include performing in the hit Fringe play Bella Donna, portraying both Portin and Calpurnia in Julius Caesar, dubbing films in Prague, and co-creating a clown dance piece. Her directing has been praised for its "dramatic edge" (NOW Magazine) and was given a Thea Award for "Unique Creativity, Imagination, Inventiveness and Originality." She has been dramaturge for over sixty productions, specializing in developing new plays and revitalizing classics. Mimi has adjudicated in Manitoba, the United States, and throughout Ontario, including Ottawa Little Theatre's One-Act Playwriting competition. She holds her B.A. and M.F.A. in Theatre from York University and is Head of Sheridan College's Acting Discipline in the Music Theatre Department.

Peterborough Examiner Award for Best Visual Production
Tara Players - The Invisible Man
Helen R McGregor Adjudicator's Award given for Best Sound/Music
More Theatre - Rouge Atomique
Peterborough Theatre Guild Adjudicator's Award given for a 'surprise at the curtain call'
Kemptville Players - Me Too, Then
Colin Mawson Award for Outstanding Contribution by a Student
Domino Theatre - Ghost of the Tree
Mackenzie Gruer as Woman
Nancy Chajkowski Memorial Award for Costume Design
Not presented
Belleville Theatre Guild Acting Award given to Best Individual Female performance
Brighton Barn Theatre - Trifles
Kathy Lacasse as Mrs Peters
Mae Carmichael Award for Acting given to Best Individual Male performance
Tara Players - The Invisible Man
Andrew Thomas as Tony
Pauline Grant Award for Acting given to Best Male Ensemble
Theatre Night in Merrickville - Mere Mortals
Tim Molloy, AL BIlliald and Brian Fitzpatrick
Nepean Little Theatre Acting Award given to Best Female Ensemble
More Theatre - Rouge Atomique
Florence More and Arlene Watson
Penny Arril Adjudicator's Award for First-Time Director
Tara Players - The Invisible Man
James R. Watson
Academy Theatre Foundation Best Director
More Theatre - Rouge Atomique
Jo-Anne McCabe
Ottawa Little Theatre Best Production
More Theatre - Rouge Atomique
Brighton Barn Theatre People's Choice Award
More Theatre

Updated: 27 March 2015