E.O.D.L hosts two Festivals a year - a full-length festival in the spring and an one-act festival in the fall. Festivals are intended as a learning experience for participants and audience alike. A professional adjudicator gives each play a public adjudication and then a more in depth private adjudication for the cast and crew.

All member groups are eligible to enter the festivals. The groups must have been in operation and a paid up member at least three months before the festival opens.

This is the information on hosting that I have so far:
2015 - One Act Festival, Highlands Little Theatre, Haliburton
2016 - Spring Festival, Peterborough Theatre Guild
2016 - One Act Festival, Studio Perth
2017 - Spring Festival, a travelling festival, hosted by ?
2017 - Theatre Ontario, Ottawa Little Theatre
2017 - One Act Festival, Rural Root Theatre
NOTE: Some adjudicator's pictures and profiles were taken from the Theatre Ontario website.

Full-Length Spring Play Festival
The Spring Play Festival has two formats - a hosted festival and a travelling festival.

The hosted festival takes place over five days and includes an awards brunch on the Sunday morning following the last production. Full-length plays are no shorter than 1 hour and 15 minutes. Four plays are selected by a pre-adjudication or evaluation process.

A travelling festival takes place from November 1 to the end of March. The adjudicator travels to each home theatre and provides a public and private adjudication the night of the performance. An Awards Brunch is held six weeks before the Theatre Ontario Festival and the awards are handed out. Travelling Festivals occur when a host theatre is unavailable or when EODL is hosting the Theatre Ontario Festival.

The winner of the Spring Play Festival goes on to represent EODL at the Theatre Ontario Festival held every year on the week before and during the Victoria Day weekend that is the May long weekend.

Current Full-Length Festival:   2016  | 

Past Full-Length Festivals:   2015  |  2014  |  2013  |  2012  |  2011  |  2010  |  2009  |  2008  |  2007  |  2006

Histories and Past Winners

Past Winners of the Leslie M. Frost Award for Best Production

Full-Length Festival Award History

One-Act Festival Award History

Past Festival Award Winners

Past EODL Best Award Winners (not with a festival)

Theatre Ontario 75/25 Draw
History - Since 1993, EODL has been conducting an annual draw from amongst the paid-up EODL member groups to pay for three quarters of a Theatre Ontario Summer Course.

At the EODL meeting in November, each paid-up member group is entered in a draw for a scholarship to a Theatre Ontario Summer Course. The winning group selects a member to attend. If the winning group or back-up winning group choose not to use their win, their group name goes back into the draw again for the following year's draw(assuming they remain active EODL members). The name of the winning group that uses the win is removed from the draw for the following five years. Members of winning groups are responsible to register and pay for their course, and submit their receipt to the EODL Treasurer upon their return, for reimbursement of three quarters of the registration cost. If for any reason, a winning group or a back-up winning group is NOT notified in time to take advantage of their win, EODL will honour the win for the following year.

One-Act Festival
The One-Act Festival takes place over three days in the fall. A maximum of nine plays are accepted on a first come first served basis. Three plays are presented on a Friday evening, three plays Saturday afternoon and three more Saturday evening. The plays must be between 25 minutes and 60 minutes. Trophies are awarded on Sunday at the Awards Brunch.

Current One-Act Play Festival:   2015  | 

Past One-Act Play Festivals: 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006

Theatre Ontario Festival
The Theatre Ontario Festival is held during the Victoria Day weekend hosted each year by one of the four theatre regions in Ontario:

The winner of the Outstanding Production Award receives The Elsie, an award named in honour of the contribution Elsie Elizabeth Thomson made to Canadian theatre. The sculpture Nice Company represents a group of cooperating, communicating and supportive people with a leader closer by like a friend. The award was designed by sculptor Richard Kramer of Dundas. The Elsie was first presented in 1985.

Festival Awards are presented in the following categories:

Current Theatre Ontario Festival:   2016  | 

Past Theatre Ontario Festivals: 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | past festivals to follow

Past Adjudicators for EODL Full-Length, Theatre Ontario, and One Act Festivals. If you can fill in any blanks, please contact the EODL.

Updated: 27 April 2015