2019 Full Length Traveling Festival

October 1, 2018 to March 31, 2019

awards brunch hosted by: Peterborough Theatre Guild Sunday, April 7, 2019


At the Peterborough Naval Association Admiralty Hall, 24 Whitlaw Street, Peterborough, K9J 1K9


Carey is the artistic director and co-founder of Theatre on the Ridge
(formerly Theatre 3x60), a professional not for profit company enriching lives
through theatre in Durham region. She has been engaged in performing arts for
over 40 years, starting with community theatre in St.Catharines, Ontario. She
moved to Toronto to pursue professional dance studies with Lois Smith, O.C. at
George Brown College, and the School of the Toronto Dance Theatre,
graduating from both professional programs and becoming a faculty member at
STDT for 15 years before moving to Durham region. She has been involved with
community and professional theatre companies in Durham, York region and
elsewhere as a board member, producer, director, choreographer, performer,
instructor, set and costume designer. Carey is a past Executive Director of the
Scugog Council for the Arts and has received several awards for her work in the
performing arts, including a Durham Art of Transition Creative Award for her
contribution to theatre in Durham. Her past, and ongoing, theatre studies include
programs and courses with George Brown College, Toronto Dance Theatre,
Tarragon Theatre, the Stratford Festival and Off The Wall Theatre Alliance, and
most recently was an auditing director with Obsidian Theatre (hang). Carey is
also a member of the Theatre Ontario Talent Bank, an independent theatre
adjudicator (including EODL One Act Festival 2015, WODL Festival 2018) and
arts educator.

Festival Participants

Pictures taken by Barb Hiland   


City of Pembroke Trophy: Adjudicator Award

Presenter:  Laurie Reesor

Winner:  Prince Edward Community Theatre, Picton, "The Glass Menagerie" ; accepted by Lynn Fennell

Armagh Sifton-Price Award:  Adjudicator Award

Presenter:  Keith Riel

Winner:  Jenny Dagenais, Vagabond Theatre, Cornwall,  "Dilemmas with Dinner"; accepted by Dan Youmelle   

Arnold Connerty Award: Adjudicator Award

Presenter:  Grand Coward

Winners:  Erastus Burley and Tim Russell, Creative Force, Cobourg "Red"; accepted by Erastus Burley

Peterborough Theatre Guild Award:  Set Design

Presenter:  Steve Russell

Winner:  David L. Smith, Domino Theatre, Kingston,  "Outside Mullinger"; accepted by: David L. Smith

John L. Walley Award: Best Costuming

Presenter:  Brenda Worsnop

Winner:  Dolores Wallace, Prince Edward Community Theatre, Picton, "The Glass Menagerie"; accepted by:  Kristen Wright on Dolores' behalf 

Deep River Players Award:  Best Visual Presentation

Presenter:  Elaine Orgill

Winners:  Graham Price, Jeanne Gauthier, Carolyn Borer, Ottawa Little Theatre, "Marvin's Room"; accepted by Shaun Toohey

Thérèse May Memorial Award:  Outstanding Contribution by a Student

Presenter:  Brandon Moore

Winner:  Jacob Segreto, Ottawa Little Theatre, "Marvin's Room"; accepted by: Shaun Toohey on his behalf 

Peterborough Theatre Guild:  Best Use of Speech

Presenter:  Bea Quarrie

Winner:  David Hurley, Domino Theatre, "Outside Mullinger"; accepted by:  Ian Malcolm oh his behalf 

Brenda and Chris Worsnop Award:  Outstanding Ensemble

Presenter:  Chris Worsnop

Winners:  Steve Foote, Gayle Fraser, Elisha Miller, Christopher Spear, Peterborough Theatre Guild, "Time Stands Still"; accepted by:  Group 

Ron Hazelgrove Award:  Best Cameo Performance

Presenter:  John Robinson

Winner:  Linda Hamstra, Domino Theatre, Kingston, "Outside Mullinger"

Margaret White Award:  For Acting Excellence

Presenter:  Liz Schell

Winner:  John Palmer, Ottawa Little Theatre, "Marvin's Room"; accepted by Shaun Toohey on his behalf

Bancroft Theatre Guild Award:  For Acting Excellence

Presenter:  Ian Burns

Winner:  Angela Pelly, Ottawa Little Theatre, "Marvin's Room"; accepted by: Cindy Beaton on her behalf 

Leonard Beaulne Memorial Trophy:  Best Actor in a Major Role

Presenter:  Pay Gray

Winner:  Geoff Johnston, Domino, Kingston, "Outside Mullinger"

Leonard Beaulne Memorial Trophy:  Best Actress in a Major Role

Presenter:  Chris Lee

Winner:  Cindy Beaton, Ottawa Little Theatre, "Marvin's Room"

Kingston Trophy:  Best Production of a Canadian Play

Winner:  Not Given, No Canadian Plays

Trentonian and Tri-County Award:  Best DIrector

Presenter:  Beth McMaster

Winner:  Shaun Toohey, Ottawa Little Theatre, "Marvin's Room"

Leslie M. Frost Award:  Best Production

Presenter:  Lisa Leroux

Winner:  Domino Theatre, Kingston, "Outside Mullinger"; accepted by:  Penny Nash 

Group Photos of Award Winners (left to right)

1st row:  Adam McGowan, Linda Hamstra, Cindy Beaton, Penny Nash, Ian Malcolm, David L. Smith, Shaun Toohey

2nd row:  Lynn Fennell, Roxanne McKenzie, Kristen White, Steve Foote, Elisha Miler, Dan Youmelle, Geoff Johnston, Erastur Burley, Christopher Spears, Gaile Fraser

Group Photos of Winners of Best Production (left to right)

1st row:  Brandon Moore, Sandie Cond, Linda Hamstra, Ian Malcolm, Penny Nash, Dympna McConnell

2nd row:  Geoff Johnston, David L. Smith, Douglas McNichol, Richard Jodoin, Pauline Jodoin

Other Photos: