2018 One-Act Play Festival

November 9, 10 and 11

Hosted by Domino Theatre, Kingston ON

Adjudicator: Jenn Sellers 

Jenn literally grew up on the community theatre stage. With more than 35 years experience in community theatre as an actor, director, stage manager and lighting technician, Jenn has taken on almost every role there is to be had in production. She got her start on the Oakville Centre Stage as a child and never looked back. Jenn moved her life to Toronto in her 20s to pursue a teaching career and has been a teacher of Theatre Arts for the past 13 years teaching students in grades 7-12 Musical Theatre, Drama and Dance. Jenn's passion for acting takes her beyond the stage and she has begun her on screen acting career. Having performed in more than 70 different community theatre productions her favourite roles to date were: Carolyn in Having Hope at Home, Sylvia in Sylvia, Katrin in I Remember Mama, Emily in Our Town, Nancy in Oliver! and one of her first lead roles Lizzie in The Last Real Summer. Jenn has directed multiple productions including Les Misérables, Cinderella, The Miracle Worker and The Crucible. Working as a teacher Jenn and her students participate in the National Theatre School Drama Festival (formerly the SEARS Ontario Drama Festival) for which Jenn has been a district coordinator for the past 4 years in Toronto. Working in the festival, Jenn has been a mentor to new Adjudicators, worked with hundreds of students and teachers and hosted many years of the festival. Jenn has training from the University of Toronto, Stratford Shakespeare Festival, Classical Theatre Lab, Equity Showcase, and Armstrong Acting Studios. As an adjudicator Jenn sees the process of play development and performance through her many different experiences and enjoys working in collaboration with the cast, crew and creative team to better understand the process. As a passionate educator and adjudicator Jenn looks forward to seeing all the hard work come to fruition on stage and sharing in all of your many successes!

Festival Participants

All pictures taken by Domino Theatre

Winners Group picture  

Helen McGregor Award: Adjudicator's award for "Spirit of Community Theatre"

Winner: Old Church Theatre, Lisa Morris accepting - Presenter:  Laurie Reesor

Penny Arril Award: Adjudicator's award 

Winner: Lindsay Little Theatre, Han O'Driscoll, Katisha Shaw accepting - Presenter:  Doug McNichol

Peterborough Theatre Guild Award: Adjudicator's award for an outstanding original script

Winner: Ottawa Little Theatre, John Muggleton - Presenter: Arlene Watson

Colin Mawson Award for Outstanding Contribution by a Student

Winner:  Tori Thibodeau, Peterborough Theatre Guild - Presenter:  Bob Brooks

Nancy Chajkowski Memorial Award for Costume Design

Winner:  Gwen Hope, Accepted by Amy Willshaw, Peterborough Theatre Guild - Presenter:  Florence Moore

Peterborough Examiner Award for Best Visual Production

Winners:  Wiliam Pialagitis and John Robinson, Peterborough Theatre Guild - Presenter:  David L. Smith

Belleville Theatre Guild Award for Acting

Winner:  Aerin Kemp, Accepted by Sandie Cond, Domino Theatre -

Presenter:  Chris Worsnop

Mae Carmichael Award for Acting

Winner:  Lucas Tennant, Studio Theatre Perth - Presenter:  Pat Gray

Pauline Grant Award for Acting

Winner:  Marc Thibodeau, Peterborough Theatre Guild -

Presenter:  Sandra Tobin

Nepean Little Theatre Award for Acting

Winners:  Josh Sparks, Dianna Renee Yorke, Jarrod Chambers, Ottawa Little Theatre - Presenter:  Lois Logan

Donald Endicott Award for the Best Co-ordinated Production

Winners: Marilyn Robinson, Keith Smith, Peterborough Theatre Guild - Presenter:  Brandon Moore

Academy Theatre Foundation Award for Best Director (The best theatrical achievements by a director)

Winner:  Jane Stott, Studio Theatre Perth - Presenter:  Lily Baird

Ottawa Little Theatre Award for Best Production (The most outstanding production, taking into account artistic direction, acting and all production)

Winner:  Ottawa Little Theatre - Presenter:  Lisa Leroux

Brighton Barn Theatre People's Choice Award (Selected by Festival patrons attending ALL of plays in the festival)

Winner:  Ottawa Little Theatre - Presenter:  Pauline Jodoin

Highlands Little Theatre Host Group Trophy (Passed on from the current host to the host for the coming year)

Winner:  Studio Theatre Perth, accepted by:  Penny Silberhorn - Presenter:  Liz Schell

Extra pictures

Father and daughter with awards: Tori and Marc Thibodeau

oops Jen broke her heel